Gaming memories

Posted: February 14, 2012 by solidjackal in Childhood, Comics, Games, Memories
Tags: , ,

So there are always moments that stick with you through your entire life either it be gaming, family, friends and so on. Since this is a gaming blog I will post about gaming and comic stuff, the one moment that sticks out in my mind when someone ask me “What is your best and scariest moment when playing a game?”

First let me state, that this moment is not scary like a monster jumps out of no where but it was equally as creepy. I am talking about Metal Gear Solid 2 :Sons Of Liberty, this was my first fray into the Metal Gear game and Kojima’s mind. The part I am talking about is when you (Raiden) get caught, stripped off all your clothes and weapons and you must run around Metal Gear Arsenal trying to find your stuff. If you have played a MGS game you know about the codec call the character has with the support staff they have. Anyways, Raiden gets calls from his commanding officer saying “This is just a game, you should put the controller down and walk away.” (BTW these might not be the exact lines he said but I think I am fairly close)

I was very confused about this but continued playing the game, then I got another call from him and he say “Listen to me Raiden, this is just a game. You should turn off the console and go sleep.” After he finished saying that line, my PS2, TV and building power goes off. I sat there are a while very confused and scared, then I heard my mom say, “What happened?” At first, I assumed that this power out was because of me and the game so I never say anything. This happened in August 14, 2003 this is one of the dates that still remain in my head. The next day, I saw that this affected a huge part of Ontario and some of parts of US, it was a freaky week and took me a while before I booted back up my PS2. When that same part came back up, I was waiting for something to happen but nothing did.

Also I have another memory I want to talk about after finding a bunch of the comics, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I found the old comics for 50 cents each and thought it will be nice to see how they started, I kinda of shocked when I heard that the turtles were actually more “darker” than the cartoon portrayed them but since I was younger I did not think much of it. But after flipping through the very first issue was I shocked. Donny getting shot point blank,

Rap’s face getting almost blown off. In this day and age, something like this could happen (I am looking at you Marvel Hero Squad) They have taken the Avengers and made them into kid friendly versions, I know there is an issue of wolverine standing atop a pile of bodies with his blades coated in blood. But a new generation of kids will grow up watching these cartoons and grow to love them as I loved the turtles, and there could be people to hate the directions the turtles took but it was one of the best shows I showed as a kid. Looking back at the intro of the show kinda of dumb but was fun and I think it was because of them that I love pizza. Also it could be the fact that Pizza Hut used to give VHS tapes with some of their orders and also they have a certain amount of advertisement in the shows but then I was a kid and I did not care. Leo, Raph, Don and Mikey will always be part of me in some way or another.

Leave a Reply

